Athletics

The mission of middle school athletics in the Shawnee Mission School District is to provide inclusive and robust experiences for all students that support and develop the middle-level learner. In order to bring this mission to life for our middle school learners, middle school athletic directors and coaches are committed to providing opportunities for our student-athletes that support the following outcomes:

  • Exposure to a wide variety of social situations that will develop the positive qualities of sportsmanship, cooperation, loyalty, leadership, and self-discipline

  • Develop concepts of goal attainment through hard work and rigorous self-discipline

  • Development of interest in curricular and extra-curricular school programs

  • Create a desire to maintain high scholastic standards

  • Develop athletic skills and abilities to their fullest potential, an appreciation for athletics and competition

  • Create a standard for excellence that will foster winning teams within the bounds of good sportsmanship

  • Promote a rallying point for the student body to build school spirit

  IHMS Athletics   Name   Email
  Athletic Director   Tara Mahoney   taramahoney@smsd.org 
  Athletic Coordinator   Sandy Laudemann   sandylaudemann@smsd.org
  Athletic Trainer   Haley Reiff   hreiff@kumc.edu
  Cross Country    Nick Dailey   nicholasdailey@smsd.org
  Volleyball   Sandy Laudemann   sandylaudemann@smsd.org
  Wrestling   Tanner Laird   tannerlaird@smsd.org
  Girls Basketball   Molly Rogers   mollyrogers@smsd.org
  Boys Basketball   J.D. Heatherly   jacksonheatherly@smsd.org
  Girls Soccer   Corey Roscetti   coreyroscetti@smsd.org
  Boys Soccer   Josh Parker   joshuaparker@smsd.org
  Footballl   TBD